Equality Arizona

Keep On Keeping On! 2/4 Weekly Legislative Update

Legislative Update 

It was an exciting week for equality! Senate Democratic Leader Katie Hobbs and House Democratic Leader Rebecca Rios joined Equality Arizona and other community leaders for a press conference on their partner bills aimed at providing statewide comprehensive protections against discrimination. Watch the press conference.

SB 1320 – employment; housing; public accommodations; antidiscrimination

Introduced by Senator Hobbs, LD 24.

This bill would ban discrimination in employment, housing, and public accommodations on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, and veteran status.

SB 1320 has been assigned to the Senate Rules committee and Commerce & Public Safety Committee.

Please call or email to express your support for this important bill:

Rules Committee

Sen. Steve Yarbrough, Chairman, LD 17:(602) 926-5863 & syarbrough@azleg.gov
Sen. Kimberly Yee, Vice-Chairman, LD20: (602) 926-3024 & kyee@azleg.gov
Commerce & Public Safety
Sen. Steve Smith, Chairman, LD11: (602) 926-5685 & stsmith@azleg.gov
Sen. Warren Petersen, Vice-Chairman, LD12 :(602) 926-4136 & wpetersen@azleg.gov

HB 2364 – employment; housing; public accommodations; antidiscrimination

Introduced by Representative Rios, LD 27.

This bill would also ban discrimination in employment, housing, and public accommodations on the basis of sexual orientation, and gender identity.

HB 2364 has been assigned to the House Rules committee and Judiciary & Public Safety Committee.

Please call or email to express your support for this important bill:

Rules Committee
Rep. Phil Lovas, Chairman, LD 22: (602) 926-3297 & plovas@azleg.gov
Rep. Paul Boyer, Vice-Chairman, LD 20: (602) 926-4173 & pboyer@azleg.gov
Judiciary & Public Safety
Rep. Eddie Farnsworth, Chairman, LD 12: (602) 926-5735 & efarnsworth@azleg.gov
Rep. Anthony Kern, Vice-Chairman, LD 20: (602) 926-3102 & akern@azleg.gov